I forgot to send my Friday newsletter!

That's why you're getting it on Saturday 🤣

So one of the awesome perks I get for working at PlanetScale is the first Friday of every month off. Most of the time I take that day to work on content, or side projects, or something. Well beyond a Twitter Space I hosted today (I’m writing this Friday evening), I decided today I’d ACTUALLY take some time off. Spent most of the day outside taking care of the lawn and hanging with the family. Turns out I completely spaced on sending my recap newsletter 😬

Well one of my major goals this year is be consistent with creating and publishing content, newsletter included. So better late than never I figure!

Latest content

Check out the latest stuff I published to my channels 👇️ 

@Work - Using VidCC to add subtitles to shorts

Monday I was asked by a C-level exec if I can add subtitles to my short form videos that are published to Instagram, TikTok, etc since most users view it with the audio off. Obviously I took on the challenge of finding something that would integrate into my workflow. I did a bit of digging online, but I’m also a subscriber to SetApp, a subscription based platform that gives you access to a bunch of premium apps. Whenever Im looking for a new app I often check SetApp just to see if somethings available.

I discovered VidCC which lets me import my videos, scans the video, and applies captions to my shorts. It lets me customize the test style, font, color, etc. The other nice thing is it lets me export the captions to an SRT file that I can use for other purposes.

If you’re interested, check it out on SetApp: https://setapp.com/apps/vidcap

What else

I’ve started hosting Twitter Spaces every week, and I often drop a poll asking what the next topic will be. If you’re interested, feel free to vote here. If the poll wraps, comment on it and I’ll see about hosting another in the future!