Life update 2/23/2024

The one about all the stuff I've been up to

Hello friends!

It has been a while since I’ve sent an update. I don’t have anything super technical for this one but wanted to send a quick “life update” note, as well as let you know what to expect from me going forward

“Yer a writer, Harry”

Over the years I’ve tried creating content in so many different forms and experimented a lot along the way. Last year, I spoke with my colleague Aaron Francis about content creation preferences. It came out that he really enjoyed making videos more than writing content, and honestly doing video work stresses me out on some strange level. So we decided to completely split the work for PlanetScale: he would do all the videos and I would do all the writing.

After several months of that, it dawned on me that I loved what I was doing. There is something magical about chasing my curiosity on database topics, taking in-depth notes along the way, and condensing those notes into a teachable format. So going forward, my content strategy will be 100% focused on written content, be that my newsletter, blog, or Twitter.

This doesn’t mean I’ve sworn off videos forever. I fully expect to revisit my YouTube channel in the next year or so, but having one medium to focus on that I enjoy has revitalized my love for creating content.

I’m building my first course

Coming off of the high from being at THAT Conference in TX, I’ve decided to start building my first course which will be active in the coming weeks. The talk I gave at THAT was about building customer GitHub Actions with Docker. I love working with any kind of automation tools, and Actions is no different. So I decided to build the GitHub Actions Course with the following modules:

It is something I’ve ALWAYS wanted to do, so I figure no time like the present 😄 

If you are interested in the course, join the waitlist at https://ghactionscourse.com 

Coffee chats

The other thing that I took away from THAT was my more outgoing side. I did ALOT of talking with random people at the conference, and I honestly loved it! So I decided to keep the party going by scheduling 1-2 coffee chats every week with random people to do intros or just to catch up!

If you want to have a quick call with me, schedule yourself at https://cal.com/brianmdev 

Until next time!