Upping my content game

This weeks theme for me was consistency

Being a content creator is much harder than a lot of people realize, especially if you want to take it seriously and eventually make a living from it. I once was an independent IT consultant and loved the freedom it gave me. My eventual goal is to have that freedom once again, whether it means keeping my traditional 9-5 or not. It’s a feeling that can’t be beaten…

I’m always driving toward that goal, so last week I set up a dedicated page in my Notion workspace with a daily schedule for what kind of content I’ll be posting on what platform for that day. I’m happy to say that I actually stuck to it this week! Here’s what that looks like:

Latest content

Check out the latest stuff I published to my channels 👇️ 

@Work - Upping our thumbnail game

If I had to pick on accomplishment this week for work its creating a new set of thumbnail templates to use for our YouTube channel. I’ve been at PlanetScale for a few months now and have mostly used our default social media card template because it was easily accessible to me. This week I decided to take some time and work on new thumbnail designs with the help of our designer. Happy with the progress so far! Not all of these will be used, but there are definitely some gems:

What else

Work aside, I’ve gotten back to my gaming roots by replaying Super Mario World again. Sometimes its nice to play a relaxing retro game instead of the many intense games available these days.

Semi-related, this week I started posting a Twitter thread daily with tips & tricks around software development. I try hard to make these easy to read and useful for my followers, so you can imagine my surprise when a gaming meme post took off with over 25k views at the time of this writing 😅 

Have a great weekend y’all!